Nissan 370Z Tech Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time doing the Zaino process, so I dropped a solid $60 on some ZFX, Z5, and Z6. Then, I decided against buying a clay bar cuz I *thought* my brother had one, but he didn't, so I spent another 31 @ Napa for a claybar and some microfibre towels. To the process.

I washed with dawn like everybdoy said, and I couldn't get off a bunch of little black specs from oil or tires or something (if u have a white u know what i'm talking about). All bummed out, i decided to do the claybar and ... HOLY SHI*!!! The claybar gets EVERY last spec of dust off of the car. Albeit it feels like the clay I use in Ceramics class, it's gotta be the best $25 spent on my car yet. The paint looks like new (all except the front bumper with it's 20+ little chips)! Then I had to wash it again and that was easy. This was @ about 12:05. Process done by 3:00. Yeah. Definitely gotta be dedicated to go through with everything.

Now to the waxing. I let the car dry for about 15 mins before i waxed and wiped off all of the door sills etc... and then mixed the ZFX and Z5, then shook up the bottle like i was jerkin it for about a minute (ironic no?!) then I applied it. Now it's about 4:00 and I'm gonna let it sit til about 5 then wipe it off, then apply coat 2, then Z6.

I'm not sure about the shine, but the claybar alone is worth the time I've spent today so far. I'll report if Zaino is truly worth it (appearance wise) for the PPW's, but if you have a PPW, I'd HIGHLY recommend going out, buying a claybar, and takin 2 or 3 hrs to wash and clay your car. You won't be disappointed. I know for one, i'll be doing it about 2 to 4 times a year, and before a car show fo sho! More to be reported tomorrow morning. Peace.

·
Registered
538 Posts
I used it on my wife's 4 year old black Tahoe and could not believe my eyes. Amazing what that thing can pull out of the paint.

·
Registered
128 Posts