Nissan 370Z Tech Forums banner

Do you usually cruise the freeway in 5th or 6th gear?

• 5th gear

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 6th gear

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm curious to see what gear you guys are in on your typical freeway cruise at 65mph-75mph? Personally, I enjoy keeping the gearing in 5th to be able to have some kick whenever I want it. I'm a pretty aggressive driver, not a bad driver. Definitely one of the better aggressive drivers, and I feel the need to keep the car in 5th gear for the most part on the freeway because I can maneuver the car more efficiently when dumb ass drivers on the road decide to cut you off. :shiftdrive:

If you turn off your traction control while on the freeway, will this contribute to better aid the handling structure of the car in a sudden situation where maneuvering the car is necessary?

Would like to hear your opinions please...

Adam B.

·
Registered
9,619 Posts
I drive in 6th as I get better milage. I also maintain a speed of 80-85...so I notice my mpg are better around 70-75mph.

I blip the throttle and downshift when needed for that extra boost!! Works well in traffic, I can out manuever a lot of cars and make my travel a bit xciting and safe. I have avoided a lot of stupid drivers this way.

·
Premium Member
12,469 Posts
Originally posted by jinxxycat@Jul 25 2005, 12:58 PM
I am in "D" most of the time :wink:
[snapback]136817[/snapback]​

+1....unless I'm in "N" waiting for Buff to catch up. :nana:

On the freeway I would keep it in the higest gear available...lower revs=longer engine life.

·
Premium Member
17,697 Posts
I normally shift into 6th gear at 65mph. I know what gears to downshift to if I need to though :wink:

The harder the engine is working...more gas, hotter oil, higher engine temps...I just like to keep my car lasting as long as possible.

·
Registered
5,437 Posts