Nissan 370Z Tech Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was just curious about the oil pressure in the 2004 Z. Mine runs about 80 to 90 when first cranked up. It then drops to around 60 lbs at speed, where it stays most of the time, unless under acceleration or at idle. At idle, mine goes to around 20 to 30 lbs. Since I am new to the "Z", this has me sort of concerned, as my other vehicle prior to this alway had higher oil pressures by gauge. The dealer service manager says that this is the way Z motors run. I dont feel too confident in his word after my last service where they left the cap off the radiator overflow tank....is this right or not?

·
Registered
806 Posts
Originally posted by Rich@Sep 16 2004, 05:17 PM
I was just curious about the oil pressure in the 2004 Z.  Mine runs about 80 to 90 when first cranked up. It then drops to around 60 lbs at speed, where it stays most of the time, unless under acceleration or at idle.  At idle, mine goes to around 20 to 30 lbs.  Since I am new to the "Z", this has me sort of concerned, as my other vehicle prior to this alway had higher oil pressures by gauge.  The dealer service manager says that this is the way Z motors run.  I dont feel too confident in his word after my last service where they left the cap off the radiator overflow tank....is this right or not?

I have the same numbers...

·
Registered
66 Posts
Depends on the rpm of course but I'm usually around 60+psi. During ~2k it's hovering around 30ish. I did one time burn quite a bit of oil, and to redline the engine never topped 35psi, so if that ever happened to you... check your oil

·
Registered
5,408 Posts
Im getting the basic same #'s as you too

·
Registered
11 Posts