Nissan 370Z Tech Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if there is a topic on this already..

I believe I should switch to Synthetic oil..correct? What kind? 10w30?? Any specific brand better than the rest?

Im a noob sorry, will i still get an oil change every 3000 miles??

·
Registered
36,128 Posts
Well you don't HAVE to go synthetic. Weight will be determined depending upon where you live and the weather. 10w30 is good for summers here, but in winters HERE it's good to use 5w30, thinner viscosity for colder temps. With synthetic you can wait to change till like 5000 miles, but I still change every 3K. You will get a lot of opinions on brand, I use Mobile1, others use Amsoil, royal purple, you get the pic, brand is personal preference.

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well i live in TX, never really cold here.. So I imagine I could stick with 10w30 yr round..

·
Registered
1,652 Posts
Ah, c'mon now, Jinx! My Amsoil syn says 25k between changes. I plan on waiting 10k. But, 5k? Is that a bit of...overkill? Most dyno oils say at least 7.5k. Why are we so anal about oil change intervals? :cheers: I think it may be because we like to be ABLE TO DO SOMETHING to our cars besides check our tire pressures. :irock:

Bottom line: my Z? Amsoil 5w30 at 10k.

·
Registered
788 Posts
Ah, c'mon now, Jinx! My Amsoil syn says 25k between changes. I plan on waiting 10k. But, 5k? Is that a bit of...overkill? Most dyno oils say at least 7.5k. Why are we so anal about oil change intervals? :cheers: I think it may be because we like to be ABLE TO DO SOMETHING to our cars besides check our tire pressures. :irock:

Bottom line: my Z? Amsoil 5w30 at 10k.