Nissan 370Z Tech Forums banner

41 - 57 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Hi guys,

350Z newbie here from the UK :)

I am looking to buy the Pioneer AVIC D3BT for my car which has BOSE. I need sat nav, full Ipod compatibility, bluetooth and would like to retain full use of the steering wheel controls.

As I understand from reading this thread, to ensure good sound quality and retain steering wheel control functionality I also need to purchase the following:

1) PAC ROEM-NIS2 to enable the HU to correctly connect to the stock BOSE speakers / amp
2) http://www.activetuning.com/products/multiple/PESWIX/ or PAC SWI-X Steering Wheel Audio Interface

Please can someone confirm that the above is all that is required?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
all i've heard is people complain about how bad the bose system is.

I have an 06 track and i think its a pretty **** good stock system.
I am a quallified audio engineer and pretty much a ridiculous audiophile. I dont claim to know everything there is about sound quality, however i can complain about the stock system in my 06 track.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
If you have a pre 03- Bose unit and put in a BOSE 06+ head unit.

The factory brackets all work, But you do have to do a little grinding/ filing to your faceplate to make it fit. Also the head unit it BLACK not gray.

All in all a GREAT Mod. I think it sounds way better than the POS 03- Bose unit I had, I don't lose my NAV voice and can now play MP3/WMA files.

As a bonus the 06+ head units have the option to turn the autopiliot OFF.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
194 Posts
QUOTE (toy4two @ Oct 27 2007, 07:31 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=453053
can't we just rip out the BLOSE amp and put in a quality amp, don't all the wires tie back to that location?

I want to add a new amp but I want to use existing wiring not have to pull wires to every speaker, possible?
Sorry for the old reply!!! But thats a Great question man! can we just replace the amp?!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
57 Posts
Are the Infiniti Kappa's spoken of on the first page still being made? It's been 3 years since this post began!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Ok, this is what I need to know since I've been browsing through multiple forums for the last hour and can't find a final solution. I hate Bose...Anyways:

1.) Can a different sub fit into the existing enclosure made for the 10" Bose Subwoofer.
2.) Can a different amp fit into the existing location where the current Bose Amp is.
3.) How are those Kappa's handling these days? Did they blow yet due to the different ohm's that the Bose Amp puts out? I heard it was some weird number..not just a flat two or a four.
4.) Should I really try to use expensive speakers with the stock amp? (Probably not)
5.) Can the old amp use the existing wiring (other than power)...perhaps there is an adapter that will make everything easier.

All I really want to do is swap out my front and rear speakers with Focal's 165 CA-1's and 165 A-1's. If I can, I wouldn't mind having extra bass by replacing the existing Bose Sub.

So far, I only swapped out my headunit to a navi system using a Bose Adapter. If necessary, I may have to rewire everything which will be a PITA.

I would appreciate any great ideas regarding the above. I hope this thread doesn't go haywire like every other forum does and misses the target questions. Seems like this forum does okay tho. However, since the post is so dated, it may be too late and I probably already made the system work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Exactly what the last guy said....any suggestions? Im thinking about just going to a Car Audio place here in AZ, but in my experience alot of the guys are all talk more bs. I would almost feel more confortable but not excited about doing the work myself.

I have an 03 and am thinking about repalcing everything.

Thoughts on 10" subs that work the best in the factory bose sub?
Good speakers for front and back?

Thanks

New and I probably need to be less lazy and just search some more....I just read through this whole thread, but I am sure there are alot more to read.

Verdict :helpsmilie:
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
35,304 Posts
If you take it to an installer, make sure they understand that the gas tank is behind the wall where the sub is, or at least near there.

I don't think you could go wrong with any decent brand name components, as long as you get the correct amp to power everything.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
I have to ask,

I have a Kenwood amp and 12" sub in box.

I want to take the sub input (from the factory system) and run it thru the aftermarket amp and sub.

Can it be done?

Would it be best to use the high-level inputs or use a line converter?

Will there be grounding issues?

The wiring diagram shows it passing thru the 'Speaker Amp' then into the 'Sub Amp', can the signal be intercepted betwen the two?

Should the signal come
a) direct from the head unit
b) pre sub-amp
c) post amp

Anyone done this before?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
A call to Bose confirmed that in the 2006+ models, the speakers are 2ohms.


QUOTE (Toykilla @ Dec 30 2005, 09:36 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=197550
Ok, I get asked the same questions about Bose almost once a week. This thread is meant to slow down the emails and PMs I get about this stupid hardware.

If you want to keep your Bose Headunit and replace the amp and speakers, you need this:
http://www.pac-audio.com/oem1kits/aoemresu...for+AOEM-1+kits

If you want to change you Bose headunit and keep your stock amp and speakers, you need this:
http://www.pac-audio.com/oem1kits/roemresu...for+ROEM-1+kits

You cannot change your speakers and keep the stock amp.

You cannot change the stock amp and keep the stock speakers.

You cannot change the headunit without the above adaptor.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
Ok I have one for you.
I have a new 2008 350Z with the NON Bose system.
It seems to have 6 speakers LESS the subwoofer behind the seat.
I dont mind at all the behind the seat location for a sub.
I have that now in a 2003 model with Bose and it sounds just fine to me.
The 2008 seems to have to spot for a sub behind the seat but no sub.
My question is this, is there any way to use that hole or spot behind the seat to actually
mount a new sub?
Is there a way to remove that panel and then install a grill there?
Do you imagine the wirring has been ran for it?
I have a new Kenwood system to install soon and I dont mind the stock speakers as they sound fairly descent just cant handle
not having a sub. Please help.
Mike
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,860 Posts
QUOTE (dyna962007 @ Nov 17 2009, 04:13 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=586797
...
Is there a way to remove that panel and then install a grill there?
Do you imagine the wirring has been ran for it?
...
Mike
See this .. http://www.350z-tech.com/zwiki/Rear_Panel_Removal

At step 3.1 you can see the mounting bracket for the sub. This was in my car ... and I have the base model. Go figure. No wiring. I ran my own wiring .. (put my amps there) .. why I pulled the panels.

Since my base model had the sub bracket yours may also. You would have to at least order the vented cover or mod the original. It just pops out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
I have an 08 Bose roadster and was wondering the same thing, I looked and those Infiniti speakers are discontinued. Any new or current news on some replacement front speakers? The rest of my system sounds ok but stereo separation and crispness is lacking. Tweeters sound weak. turning of audiopilot did help some.
Also, would you use the stock wires to each speaker location, or use the crossover included to drive the tweeter?
Thank you

Good thread. I'm thinking of putting the Infinity Kappa 60.7cs (front) and 62.7i (rear) in my 05Z and leaving the Bose headunit and amp with the thought that I can always upgrade later. Looking for the best improvement in sound for the least $. Not really an audiophile just want a step up.

Since this thread is somewhat dated, I wanted to check and see if this was still a good plan or is there a better way to spend my money as regards the sound system?

Thanks

Tom

I went to the local stereo/tinting shop (Mothers). Fairly well respected in
Austin. They had done a few 350z's with new audiio system and would not even quote me a price.
Too much of a PITA to mess with.
Amazing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
I've got a 2003 Z with Bose. I'm replacing the stock HU with a Pioneer avh-4400BH, the sub with an Alpine swr-1043D, adding a Kenwood amp for the sub. Here are the questions that I have.

1) What I would like to do is keep the factory amp for the 4 6-1/2s that are in the door and rear. I've read that for those who kept all of the factory bose speakers and just replaced the HU, their bose speakers came to life afterwards.

2) If 1 is true there are several questions that I need answered.
a) Are all of the factory speakers ran through one single amp?
b) If a is yes, can i still use that amp for the factory speakers?
c) If b is no, i'll assume that the sub is on it's own amp and the 4 6-1/2s are on another.
d) In either case, b or c, It appears that the speakers (4 6-1/2s) need to be 4 ohms in order to connect them to the pioneer HU, but if I use the factory amp for the 6-1/2s, this doesn't matter right?
e) I know I need the PAC module if I want to just replace the HU, but what about in this situation where I want to replace the HU, sub and add an amp just for the sub and keep the factory amp and 6-1/2s? It seems like I can just send the signal from the new HU to the module using the existing wiring without the PAC module. What do I need to consider for this?

I know most people want to just scrap the BOSE all together, but if I can just add an amp and a new sub and keep everything else, I'd rather do that if it really comes to life as those who kept them say.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
That is very odd. Every other Bose system I have run across will not handle aftermarket speakers with the stock amp. Was it a straight swap?
I've been doing Car audio professionally off and on for about 25 years. Key in speaker replacement on a Bose system is to remember in a Bose system, the Ohm load of the speakers is either very low 2 or in a few cases 1 or very high 8. As long as your system is using 1 or 2 ohm a standard aftermarket speaker (4ohm) is fine. You just loose a little volume. In my opinion, any aftermarket speaker will sound better even if you loose a little volume. On the other side of the coin, if your stock amp is running on the 8 Ohm or higher side, the after market speakers will play for a while but it will eventually burn the amp out because you are running at a much lower Ohm load than the amp can handle. Hope this helps.
 
41 - 57 of 57 Posts
Top