Nissan 370Z Tech Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
3,089 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys

Ive been driving the Z now daily for almost 4 months, and im really not liking the stock suspension

At a cruise on smooth to moderate roads it feels fine, nicely damped, firm yet soft enough to be comfortable

But as soon as i hit the city or a rough rd the front just feels too hard. Over potholes, train tracks and road expansion joints the front crashes hard, the interior is filled with a screeching plastic on plastic noise, and the whole dash feels like its going to rip off. The rear is fine, its almost too soft in comparison. I take it Nissan engineers never drove a 330ci

Does anyone else experience this?

My alfa was 80mm off the ground with zero suspension travel and konis dialed to max firmness, and it never crashed like this

Once i get my wheels on, im going to have to fit some luxury coilovers, HKS LS+ preferably, at this rate the car is going to fall apart, and the interior rattles will be battling the stereo tunes

What's your thoughts? Curious to here u syd guys with even worse city roads

·
Registered
2,120 Posts
I take it Nissan engineers never drove a 330ci

It might not be the 'softest' or 'smothest' ride, but personaly I don't care much about that. I care more about how it takes a corner, where it's limits are and what it does on the limit. In that regard the OME suspension is really good IMHO ... even though, it's set up a bit too much on the 'safe side' for my liking ... hence my fidling with the supsnsion.

Personaly 330ci I'm glad that the Zed is not set up like a BMW ... unless it's an M3 (or CSL) then they are just too soft to be driven at the limit.

·
Registered
1,176 Posts
TPIACE - you are correct. I have the Touring model which is supposed to have a slightly better ride than the Track. However, I have driven and sat in a few Track models and really cannot notice any difference in ride comfort between the two models.