Nissan 370Z Tech Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone.. I'm a newbie here, just signed up today. I have a 2004 daytona blue 350z roadster, and I love it!

My only concern with the car is about the OEM HID's. They're "good", but definitely not "great", as I'd expect from any HID system.

First off, it seems like the beams don't uniformly cover the whole ground in front of the car. There are a few areas that seem unlit, almost like there's something on the headlights, but there isn't. This makes the beam pattern on the road look blotchy, and it looks horrible. Is this normal?

Secondly, they simply aren't that bright. When I compare them to my old car's halogen lights, yes, they're better, but it seems like any car with ordinary halogen headlights driving beside me on the road have the same intensity as my HIDs. And, ANY car with OEM HID's that pull up beside me seem to easily overpower my headlights every time. Could this be isolated to just my HIDs, or are the HID's in the 350z's in general just not that great?

Lastly, what type/brand of HID bulbs should I buy, and would they even make a difference? I read online that there are two types of bulbs: D2r and D2s. Which one is better, and do they both fit in the 350z headlight?

Is anyone else is having these problems?!?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!!

:cheers:

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah I forgot to mention that I've done the height adjustment already - it helps to correct the "blotchy" beam pattern on the ground a bit, but it's still not bright enough. And when it's raining or the roads are wet it's like I don't even have my headlights on... that's just not acceptable for HID headlights. =\

·
Registered
146 Posts