Nissan 370Z Tech Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright, so for those of you who know me, I haven't been on this site for about a month. That would be because I've had a tough time.

My main reason I have been unable to get on here, is because my laptop had picked up a virus and crashed. But thankfully it was under guarantee and I got it back today! Anyway, last Sunday I got into a bit of an accident. I was turning into my neighborhood... completely casual-like and something snapped. I heard some burning rubber next thing I know I'm up on the opposite side of the street, on the curb :(

Luckily, no other cars were involved. However, my front, driver-side tire has been... well destroyed. The rim got a nasty case of curb rash. And somehow, the entire wheel itself has been pushed back against the body. Now I'm not an expert with suspension and all of that, but I'm pretty sure that shouldn't happen. I'm trying to decide if this was mechanical failure, or if it was just my poor slow speed turning skills. Please give me feedback, and I unfortunately have no pictures of the car seeing as though it was dark when this occurred and I had to get the car towed that night. (some shady people walking around there). I haven't been contacted by the dealership (where I'm having it repaired), but I've got an estimate from their mechanic (5 grand....) Should I get a second opinion? Again, feedback please. Thanks!

·
Premium Member
35,304 Posts
Ugh, that sounds horrible. Always get at least 2 opinions. Do your research online and look for good or great reviews of the shops.

So what you're saying is that you were turning slowly around a corner and the suspension broke?

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #3