Nissan 370Z Tech Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

i'm currently evaluating my options in getting rid of my BA Falcon XR6 and getting into a 350Z Track. I'm a little amiss at the pricing that Nissan think they can charge for this car at $66k. The soon to be released USA spec Track is the equiv of AU$46K + onroads. Also as to why the USA cars have some options which would be cool here in Australia (such as factory sat nav).

The main reason i'm looking to shed the BA is because of poor quality and after sales servicing. Can anyone here let me know how Australian (US have those lucky Lemon Laws) service centers go? For example if i've got an issue with the gearbox do they kick up a fuss and blame your driving technique or would they take it to heart and look into the matter?

Any experiences with Nissan dealerships (esp Melbourne) would be terrific - as it is my first time dealing with an overseas manufacturers.

Regards,
Ian

·
Registered
1,176 Posts
Hi Ian

Yeah there is a great disparity between prices that the Z is sold for in the US and here. This is partly due to our taxes and stamp duties, but probably mostly to do with the fact that the USA is probably the cheapest country in the world to buy any car.

You have noo control over this so just don't worry about it. You need to pay what the Z is sold for here.

BTW, factory sat nav is available here in Aust as a factory option.

My experience with Nissan service has been quite good. I had a fault with my drivers side power window mechanism and also my differential, both of which were replaced under warranty. The only problem is that Nissan doesn't seem to carry any parts stock here in Aust, so you have to wait for the parts to come from Japan before you can have your problem fixed.