Nissan 370Z Tech Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16,332 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, well I am looking to drop my monthly payments. I was purchasing my last z for 550$ a month.. I can do a 3-4 yr lease for 330-350$ a month. This looks enticing as it takes some stress off the pocket book every month.

Now at the end i have basically 2 options:

a. purchase car

b. turn car in

If i decide to keep the car how much more am I spending compared to buy it outright? 2k? 5k? 8k?

I like the idea because something better may come along that I would like to switch to, but I also like that I can decide to keep it..

I have never done this before so please help/warn me now.

·
Registered
1,867 Posts
Here is a link to a lease calculator that is very easy to use. Put in the purchase price, including sales tax and license. Start with a 5% interest rate. You can figure your monthly payments based on whatever term and down payment you want to use. I would guess that the residual (end of lease value) ought to be about 45% of the purchase price on a 48 month lease. This is the wild card. Play with the end of lease value and you will see how much it changes the payment amount. It should not really cost you any more in the long run to buy the car at the end of the lease, than to purchase it oughtright, taking into account the "time value of money."

http://www.bankrate.com/brm/cgi-bin/lease....&page=calc_home

I like leasing. I bought my '95 E36 M3 at the end of its lease because it was worth much more than the residual.

For the payment you want, I think you are looking at an Enthusiast model and a fairly long term. Try the calculator.

If you talk to a bank or leasing company and get some actual figures, I can help you figure out which is the best deal.

·
Registered
1,867 Posts
I don't know if they allow you to modify a leased car, but I am doing it anyway. If push comed to shove, I will just buy the car for the residual at the end of the lease.

·
Registered