Nissan 370Z Tech Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If the Walbro only flows about 20 or so more than stock and is the exact size as stock why would you need an FPR and vaccum line inside your car up to the engine bay on our returnless fuel system?

Wouldn't it just dump any extra back into the tank?

If you are just barely lean and want to add a little more fuel at what point do you need to go return line and why?

Max

·
Administrator
16,332 Posts
wow that is jumping into some deep waters right away!

i am a newbie at engine mods but i am learning every day and later this year i hope to be doing some FI on mine.

your experience is welcomed here max

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for having me. :D

I guess I should start off by saying I have a scer with 9 pounds of boost and retarded the timing and all of the other safety buffers people reccomend.

What I found was when you gewt a larger fuel pump on a returnless fuel system like our beloved Z and you add too much fuel like say a 280L SARD you will have extra fuel.

The returnless system doesn't know how to regulate it so you can buy an FPR
Fuel Pressure Regulator.

My findings from 2 sources show that the stock pump flows like a mofo!

It's a tiny little thing (picture a can of Red Bull.) It is about that size exactly so it's moving some fuel!

The replacemnt that drops right into it's spot is a Walbro 155 and is the exact same size, even the same color!

It flows more but not obscene amounts more. I was in LA and saw 5 fuel pumps laid out. SDome were obscene when you see how dinky the stock and Walbro are.

Like picture a Monster Energy DRink can or .5 Farad Audio Capicitor as a visual guide.

The regulator and line is almost 300 more and I am trying to see if I can just drop the Walbro in there without an FPR and a line run through my car (tearing apart the inside of my car for like the 5th time.)

So I guess that will help make it make sense.