Nissan 370Z Tech Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone intalled a monitor in the dash where the nav monitor goes? And if anyone has, what size monitor does it take? And how difficult is the install.
Another newbie here askin questions. Thanks for any help you can give.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,332 Posts
i know alot of people have done this.. there is a particular one that fits perfect, but the brand name is slipping my mind.. if i remember i will post it
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
909 Posts
If memory serves me right the Fahrenheit screens are a perfect fit. My fiance just ordered the Xenarc 700TSV for me but with this one you have to remove the case.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,911 Posts
The Kenwood isn't a monitor. It's a head unit. And I imagine it's too big to fit in the stock nav compartment
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Originally posted by soppy@Dec 29 2004, 02:56 AM
The Alpine TME-M770 is a perfect fit, and its a touch screen.

Thanks for all the replies. you've all been a great help. I'm thinkin about gettin the Alpine TME-M770. Lookin at doin this the end of next month or the beging of Feb. Has anyone installed this unit? Thanks again for all your input.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,735 Posts
If you're looking for a new head unit then the Alpine will work for you. If you're just trying to put a monitor in there for in car pc purposes, the Xenarc 7" screens fit perfectly in the '03 nav compartment. I believe the size was changed on the '04 and beyond models, so you'd have to buy the '03 nav compartment from a dealership.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Originally posted by Gshere4u+Dec 30 2004, 04:37 PM-->
<!--QuoteBegin-soppy
@Dec 29 2004, 02:56 AM
The Alpine TME-M770 is a perfect fit, and its a touch screen.

Thanks for all the replies. you've all been a great help. I'm thinkin about gettin the Alpine TME-M770. Lookin at doin this the end of next month or the beging of Feb. Has anyone installed this unit? Thanks again for all your input.

try here.


http://350zuk.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=3779&st=15
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Originally posted by soppy+Jan 7 2005, 01:30 PM-->
Originally posted by [email protected] 30 2004, 04:37 PM
<!--QuoteBegin-soppy
@Dec 29 2004, 02:56 AM
The Alpine TME-M770 is a perfect fit, and its a touch screen.

Thanks for all the replies. you've all been a great help. I'm thinkin about gettin the Alpine TME-M770. Lookin at doin this the end of next month or the beging of Feb. Has anyone installed this unit? Thanks again for all your input.

try here.


http://350zuk.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=3779&st=15

Thanks for the link. That's the look I'm lookin for. Can't wait. Thanks again.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
17,697 Posts
Are there any other screens that fit in the navigation box that will work. I don't need a touchscreen, and I would like something that fits close to flush as the stock navigation unit without the price.

So far you guys have suggested the Xenarc 7" screen (Model No ??) and the Fahrenheit 7001. Any other suggestions and suggestions on where I can find these screens for a good price? All of my local audio shops are too expensive.

I've checked www.ikesound.com and www.thezeb.com and neither carries these brands. Are there any other reliable online stores (other than ebay) that you guys can think of?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
587 Posts
[/quote]

It just depends on what you want the screen for and how much you want to spend

this is the Xernac 700YV. but with Xeranc you have to take it out of the case to get it to fit and that voids the warranty on the screen
 

Attachments

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
17,697 Posts
I don't mind voiding the warranty. Did you take any pics while you were installing it? Also, were there any power buttons you had to re-locate or maybe a remote "eye" for a control?

I was talking to my sound guy today and he said it would probably be a ton of trouble to take it all apart and get it to fit properly, so I just wanted to ask some questions. Maybe there is a DIY on it somewhere :dunno: ?

I'm going to hook up an X-box to it, or maybe just a plain DVD player. I want to be able to close the cubby also to hide the screen.

Thanks for the help Chazz... Oh yeh, and that emblem came in today! I'm excited to put it on. Thanks for everything!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
909 Posts
I just got done installing the XENARC 700TSV it's hooked up with a PS2. The install wasn't really that bad I actually did the install myself and I don't know squat about audio/video installs. I saved myself about 400 bucks on the install. Let me know if you have questions.
 
1 - 20 of 31 Posts
Top