Nissan 370Z Tech Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am not very good with cars, but I will try to provide a quick review of these coilovers.

Just got it installed yesterday along with the JIC Magic strut bar. I had it on setting 22 last night (1 being most comfortable) and I bounced around so hard that I couldn't feel myself driving after 15 minutes or so on urban roads. During cornering, I could feel a big difference in stability. Today I changed the settings to 5 (very easy to change the setting, it takes about 30 seconds for each shock). Ride hide was extremely smooth, with a bit of jolt occasionally but was generally fine. Noise from the shocks were very audiable at setting 5.

I had a set of Esplier on stock shocks previously and I can definitely feel the difference before and after installing the Hypermax II and the strut bar. Cornering feels more stable and the car ride at setting 5 is much more comfortable than when I had the Esplier on. The only drawback would be the noise from the coilovers, but I can live with that. That, and the price.

Out of 10, I would rate it an 8. With one point going to the price and the other going to the noise.

·
Premium Member
6,474 Posts
Very nice! :thumbsup:

aftermarket coilovers usually squeak.. the noise may come and go.

FWIW, i have 30 way adjustables on my other car.. and i don't go near 20's unless I'm on R compounds or track driving..

other wise I'm at 15 give or take a few.

With my Zeal, I run 5 out of 6 daily.. Different setup..

Any pics of the install?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I've asked 4 different shop owners, and they all agree that with coilovers you'll get some squeak, probably from the ball joints (stock uses a rubber joint I belive) rubbing and/or from the gas shocks (the softer you go, the more sound you'll get). Thats what these owners all told me.