Nissan 370Z Tech Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
506 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just as subject states. I've got a project I want to try and make work, but I'd like some insight from anyone who may know a little more about electronics, power and switches before I get started. Post up a AIM screen name or let me know and I will drop a PM on what I want to do.

Thanks,
Chris

·
Registered
785 Posts
I will try and help, shoot me a pm. For the record I am not a guru, but I have done a bit of electrical work.

·
Registered
254 Posts
You can reach me on aim at Aggiez45. I'm an electrical engineer and have done some electrical work and automotive wiring also.

·
Registered
506 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the help guys...

I am going to try and get some pictures together before I send out some text that may be a little difficult to visualize.

Thanks again. I am hoping this turns out to be a pretty neat idea.

Chris

·
Registered
506 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Well, I decided to just post it out in the open, so I might get a better group.

Here is what I would like to do.

I just bought a reverse camera, and intend on hooking it up to my reverse lights, so that when I go in reverse and my reverse lights light up it provide power to the camera, the camera will turn on. However I would like to also have the ability to turn it on and off at will. Meaning, when I turn it "on" via the switch it'll turn on even though I'm not in reverse, and then when I shut it "off" via the switch it makes it so it's only on when the reverse lights come on.

How I would like to do this is to modify the Map Lamp Assembly and add a second switch from a additional Map Lamp Assembly that I purchased from a junked Z.

So... how do I do this?

I am an electronics newbie, so please feel free to modify this drawing (below) and show me where I should add fuses if any, and so on. I hope I've made it somewhat understandable.