Nissan 370Z Tech Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
4,328 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In all my years of modifying cars, one topic seems to come up fairly regularly. That topic is how to go about modifying your car on a budget. First you have to realize that motorsports are easily one of the most expensive hobbies you can undertake. It's up there with owning a nice boat. Everybody loves fast cars. Everybody loves a nice boat. Yet not many people own either one. The prime reason being money.

So here are some basic tips I'd like to pass on...

1. Do Your Own Work. Whenever possible, do your own labor. Labor costs can break any budget. With a basic set of hand tools and a shop manual, you'd be surprised at what can be accomplished. Even if you are a complete newbie to working on cars, you probably know a friend or coworker who'd be
willing to lend a hand. And the 12 pack your buddy charges is far cheaper than the going hourly rate for shop labor ($50-$150/hr). If you don't know anybody, try the forums. I have lent people assistance in the past, and have had that assistance returned. You make friends, you get the work done, you save money. A tough formula to beat.

2. Buy Used Parts When You Can.
Many budget minded modders head straight for the discount and eBay parts. All in the name of trying to save a few bucks. They usually are quick to say things like "It's just as good as ____" or "You're only buying a name anyway". Which, in some cases may be true, but realistically, quality name-brand parts can be had used for similar prices (or lower) to brand new knock off parts. Things like intakes, exhausts, wheels... these are low wear items, there's no reason not to pick these up used when you can. Trust me, once it's on the car nobody will know the difference. And let's not kid, you know you really want the good stuff.