Nissan 370Z Tech Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry for the total noob question, but here goes...

If you want the amp to run all 4 speakers and a sub, do you need a 5-channel amp?
Can you let the amp run the front two speakers and the sub, then let the HU run the back two speakers and just buy a 3-channel amp?

Is it ok to have one amp power everything? The other option is to buy a smaller amp for now to run the front speakers, let the HU run the rears. Then when I get around to the sub, buy another amp for that. I would just like to plan for it and buy the right amp up front if I can run everything from one amp.

This weekend I'm installing a new HU, 6.1 Perfects up front, and an amp to run them. I want an amp with the option of adding a sub and/or quality rear speakers later. What kind of amp do I need to buy? Any opinions on brand and/or model???

Any help is greatly appreciated!!!

·
Registered
138 Posts
Each channel is for one speaker. So 4 channel will power 4 speakers, or the fronts and a sub. The best thing to do is buy a amp for the speakers and a separate for the sub, but I think lots of 4 channel amps have a RCA to power a sub-specific amp. If you want you could get a 5-channel amp and you'll have all you need, but generally they are BIG and you are better off getting a pair of amps (Plus if ones blows you still have part of the system).

You could use the HU to power the rears, but depending on what HU you have it may be difficult to get them to match the rest of the system. The stock rear location sucks anyway, even with my new rear and having them amped they don't sound too good, but add the right amount of rear fill.

Depending on your budget you should be able to get a 5-channel or a 4 channel and a mono sub for the bass. If you go to 350zmotoring my gallery shows my amps under the seats and my custom box. Or jsut do a search for radio or amps.

·
Registered
16,332 Posts