Nissan 370Z Tech Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All -

I'm somewhat new to car audio, but I'm doing my part to get up to speed. I'm reading lots from the Tutorials / Forums, but still need some help and advice... so thanks in advance for your replies.

Goal: I'm going for good clean sound, not trying to build a competition system, piss of my neighbors, make my ears bleed, etc.

Cost: I have money, I'm willing to spend some, maybe around $1000. Again, not trying to build a competition system, just want great sound.

Initial thoughts:
  • I have an old Kenwood KAC-606 AMP (2x 50W or 1x 150W bridged) with a 10" Infinity Sub in a bandpass enclosure. This combination was extremely loud in my old Integra, people thought I had a couple of 15's in my trunk. I'd like to use the AMP, and maybe the enclosure to save money, but it's a poor fit in front of the rear strut and probably too loud. Ultimately I will probably favor replacing it. Maybe I can use the existing 10" speaker in a new sealed enclosure. Recommendations welcome.
  • Replace factory headunit with Pioneer DEH-P6900UB CD Receiver to gain iPOD functionality. Reviews on this unit are pretty good in comparison to some like models from other manufacturers.
  • The front speakers don't sound too bad to me, but then again, I've never had anything but stock speakers in my previous cars. If I replace them, I'm planning on the Polk Audio db6500 6-1/2" Component System.
  • The rear speakers suck ass and I'd like to replace them, though I've already read that this won't improve staging and is probably a waste of money. Opinions welcome. If you think I should replace the rear speakers, please recommend a set of Polks that would work.
Procedures I'm planning to use:
Seat Removal
Dash Removal & Head Unit Installation
Center Console Removal
Rear Panel Removal