post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-20-2008, 07:04 AM Thread Starter
BEE
Base Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
sup peoples,

I was planning to install coilovers for my 350Z. Does anyone recommend them and if so which is the best brand and how much am i looking at to set me back?

Is it better than getting shocks and suspension seperately?

I'm new to all this so any advice is good.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-20-2008, 09:00 AM
Touring Member

Send a message via MSN to mxfly
My question to you is, what do you intend to do with your car. Most ppl here mainly use their rides for street and maybe occasional track days.

For a street setup, you dont really need coilovers. YOu can get a nice set of aftermarket struts with matching springs. That would save you a little on other things like sway bars, which i do recommend. But saying that, there is someone here who is selling a nice set of new coils for 1500, which is an absolute bargain.

Coilovers, although they do improve handling, it's not the only component that makes the car corner better. THere's so much involved with a suspension setup that i can write a mini essay here. I would definitely get a nice set of aftermarket sway bars, like Nismo which will reduce the body roll. Surprisingly, I found the stock struts to be quite acceptable when i first bought my car. I just simply changed the sway bars. But i wanted to lower my car, as well as having the benefit of adjusting your damping so I had to get coilovers.

Once you lower your car, there's other issues to deal with as it changes your roll centre, your camber, your toe, etc. And stock arms, links and rods do not have enough adjustments so I decided to get all aftermarket parts. At the front, I changed the castor rods, upper control arms and at the rear, the traction rods and toe rods.

With coilovers, I use Ohlins DFV which are both great for street and track use.