User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-16-2016, 03:41 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
350Z idling low and no power!

I have a 2004 Nissan 350Z 6 speed M/T and I noticed last night a loss in power when accelerating hard and also the car is idling very low around 500 rpms rather then 900-1000 like it used too. while driving and hitting the gas the rpms just jump very high but no acceleration. I also noticed this morning when starting the car cold that my A/C Belt was squeaking(its been squeaking for a while but only when the A/C was turned on) but this time I noticed it stops for 1-2 seconds and continues then stops for 1-2 seconds and so on... I am very new to cars in general and I have only been driving manual for a little over a month. Starting to learn a little about engine breaking and downshifting. I have been practicing my downshifts this last 2 weeks quite a lot and a little engine breaking to see how the car handles and feels while doing it.. I let out the clutch very slowly. The car feels very sluggish now and the clutch actually feels kind of stiff... wondering it the clutch is burned. When I bought the car it stated it had a new clutch. If anyone has any suggestions why the car is idling so low and feels like its gonna die please help.

P.S. the car has some aftermarket parts on listed below
Kinetix intake manifold
Headers
Injen cold air intake
Full exhaust with titanium tips
Eibach springs
Short Throw Shifter
Hotchkis front HD sway bar and links
New performance clutch
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-17-2016, 12:19 AM
Touring Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
More than likely, your Z is in limp mode. Nissan engineered it into the ECM to prevent further damage to the engine when it detects a major fault. If your CEL is flashing, you may want to get codes pulled to determine what the problem(s) are.