LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
#1 (permalink) Old 07-29-2006, 06:37 AM
Enthusiast Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to briankort
(Thread Starter)
I was looking through the posts today and saw that it is pretty big now in Japan to try and tune/modify NA engines right now. It was mentioned that they are making alot of changes to the timing because according to them, the stock timing is set up very mild from the factory. I was curious if anyone on this site has had a shop tune the timing on their car. And if so, did you see a noticeable difference?

I would really like to hear from FI applications, but all input is appreciated. Right now I am running the Vortech Supercharger and was able to get another 30HP out of just tuning the air/fuel ratio. The software package for programming the Vortech allows for timing advance and retard throughout the RPM range. I am not an expert and did not feel safe at the time to start adjusting the timing.

If you know of any GOOD shops that can hook my car up to a computer and look at the timing and see where in the RPM range we could make improvements, I would appreciate it. Also if there is any good reading info about this, feel free to throw up a link.

2003 6MT Super Black Touring - Kinetix SSV Intake Manifold - Vortech SC w/ 3.25" pulley - Alpha Werks Headers - B&M Short Shifter - Nismo Shift knob - 19" Konig Unknown wheels - Seibon VSII Carbon Fiber Hood - Borla dual exhaust - Random Tech High Flow Cats

391 rwhp & 312 ft/lbs @ 10psi
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 07-29-2006, 12:51 PM
Administrator

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to toykilla Send a message via Yahoo to toykilla