Cylinder Misfire and 02 Heater Code Fix - Nissan 350Z Forum, Nissan 370Z Tech Forums
User Tag List

1Likes
  • 1 Post By BeaterZ33

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-10-2016, 03:26 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Cylinder Misfire and 02 Heater Code Fix

Hi everyone. I'm new to the Z33 world, but not new to Nissan. I've been a B13 guy for a long time.

Anyhow I just wanted to share my story as I was not able to find useful information on the issue I was trying to resolve. I figure what I went through can help somebody in the future.

I purchased an 03 Enthusiast 6MT about a year ago. The car is a fixer upper. The major problem being that the engine was not working well. Long story short my problems were due to a bad ECM.

Engine Symptoms:
-Rough Idle
-The car ran rich you could smell it
-Pressing the throttle heavily would result in a stall and also some misfire
-Misfire codes P0300, P0304, P0305
-02 Heater Codes P0032, P0037

Things that I tried and checked for troubleshooting:

-New 02 Sensors (The P0032, P0037 codes did not go away)

-I replaced the Camshaft Position Sensors and Crankshaft position sensors with some junkyard spares (This did not do anything)

-New Coil packs ( Initially I bought a single spare coil pack for Cylinder 4 due to the P0304. It did nothing. I later bit the bullet and bought 6 brand new coil packs. The new coil packs did not fix the misfire)

-Removed the front 02 sensors. ( I did this to check for clogged cats. The cats were not clogged. This did nothing)

-Replaced injector harness and knock sensor with a junkyard spare from a G35 sedan ( I found a mouse nest under the intake manifold. I thought maybe the mice had messed with some wiring. This did not fix anything)